What are the different types of User Roles?

User Roles are an easy way to consolidate your account's User Permissions into templated sets.

There are three groups of access:

  1. Account Permissions
  2. Screening Permissions
  3. Posthire Permissions

Types of User Roles

Admin - admin users have access to everything, including all Positions/Openings/Locations, Reports, Calendars, settings, and Posthire; they can also perform any kind of action.
Regular - a regular user has limited access to stages inside an Opening's workflow, Reports, Calendars, settings, and Posthire; their actions are also restricted by what is specified in their user settings.
Restricted - a restricted user only has access to the Sessions pages (Scheduled Sessions and Calendar Availability).

Admin, regular, and restricted user roles reside in your User Roles page by default.

Adding a User Role

To add a new User Role, you must have an owner or admin-level Fountain account.

  1. Go to Company Settings in your Fountain account.
  2. Click on 'User Roles' on the left hand side; this will take you to a page that lists all existing user roles:
  3. Click the blue 'Add User Role' button.
  4. You'll then see the 'New User Role' form:
  5. Select the permissions you would like for your user role to have, and hit 'Create.'
  6. You'll be asked if you would like to add users to your new user role on the next page:
  7. If you press 'Skip,' you'll be taken to a page that displays your new User Role.

***Note: if your position is public, all users will be able to access it. (You can update this in your position settings):


If a position is private, access to can be granted through 'Position Access' dialog in User Settings:

Applying a User Role

To apply a user role, you must have an owner or admin-level Fountain account.

  1. Go to the 'User Roles' page from Company Settings.
  2. Click on the 'Actions' button next to the role you'd like to apply, and then hit 'Apply Role':
  3. Select the user(s) you would like the user role applied to:
  4. Click the blue 'Add Users' button at the top, and you're all set!

Editing a User Role

To edit a user role, you must have an owner or account-level Fountain account.

  1. Go to the 'User Roles' page from Company Settings.
  2. Click on the 'Actions' button next to the role you'd like to edit, and then hit 'Edit Role':
  3. Make the desired updates to your role.
  4. Click 'Save.'

Deleting a User Role

To delete a user role, you must have an owner or account-level Fountain account.

  1. Go to the 'User Roles' page from Company Settings.
  2. Click on the 'Actions' button next to the role you'd like to delete, and then hit 'Delete Role':
  3. A notification will pop up, warning you that deleting the user role will affect x number of users; you can still delete the user role even if it's assigned to users. Users will retain the permissions from the user role that was last applied to them:
  4. Click 'Yes, delete,' and you're all set!

If you have any further questions regarding this, please feel free to send us an email at support@fountain.com. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.