In addition to Stage Message, you can set up multiple Follow Up Messages that will continue to remind the applicant if they still haven't completed that Stage. Follow Up messages are sent based on idle time (in days). If the applicant has been inactive in that stage in X days, then they'll get a Follow Up Message. So applicants who are diligent and are doing the steps in a timely manner, won't get these Follow Up Messages.
Each Follow Up Message can be different so you tailor your communication to be more compelling even express a sense of urgency as time progresses.
Add Follow Up Messages
- From the Workflow Editor, click on the Stage you wish to edit.
- On the right side of the Workflow Editor, find the Follow Up Message section.
- Click on the blue Add Message button.
- We recommend adding a Follow Up Message in the Message Templates and linking to it by clicking on the dropdown under use Message Template (Note: This option will only show up if you already have a Follow Up Message Template). If you really want to add a new email, click on Add Email to compose the email and/or click on Add SMS to compose the SMS.
- Click Save Message.
- In the box right above the message, type in the number of days the applicant is idle for before the message is sent.
- If you want to send several follow-up messages, you can add more by clicking Add Another Message.
Fountain doesn't restrict you on how many Follow Up messages you want to add, but we recommend making no more than three Follow Up messages. You may also want to stagger your messages so they are not being sent out back to back. Please keep in mind that sending out too many follow-up messages will not encourage applicants to take action, but rather deter them from taking action.
Edit Follow Up Messages
You can edit the Follow Up Message the same way as adding the message above, by going to the Stage's setting through the workflow editor. Click on the Message Name, then click on View Email when you're in the editing message screen.
If you used a Template, you can click the Edit Template under the template name, which will take you to Message Template and your change will be made to the template and will affect any stages that use this Follow Up message Template. You can unlink the from the template so your edits will only affect this message for this stage in this opening only.
Otherwise, you can just click View Email or View SMS to make the edits.
Follow Up Messages are triggered by the applicant's idle time in that stage. Applicants are considered idle if they have not taken the action associated with the stage they are in. So, applicants become idle if they:
- haven't been moved to another stage from a Custom Stage.
- do not have a booked session in a Scheduler Stage.
- have not submitted consent for a background check in a Background Check Stage.
- have not submitted the data collection form in a Data Collection Stage.
- have not signed the document(s) in a Document Signing Stage.
- have not completed a lesson or course in a Learning Stage.
Applicants' idle times are reset when:
- they are transitioned from one stage to another.
- a background check email is sent to them.
- their booked session on the calendar is created or updated.
- their background check report is created or updated.
- their document signature request is created or updated.
- they have completed a lesson or course.
- they have submitted a data collection form.
Existing Applicants Idle Time
Adding a Follow Up Message to a stage with applicants already in it WILL NOT retroactively send the message for some if they do not meet the trigger rule.
Example #1: Assume we have two applicants, A and B. A has been idle for 5 days and B has been idle for 1 day. We create a Follow Up Message with idle days = 2. Applicant B will receive the trigger message in 1 day; applicant A will never receive the message.
Example #2: Assume that we already have a trigger with idle days = 5 and there are two applicants, A and B, who are 1 day and 3 days idle, respectively. We update the trigger and set idle days = 2. Applicant A will receive the trigger message in 1 day (instead of 4 days); applicant B will never receive the message.
Disable Automated Messages
Sometimes, you may want to disable messages without completely deleting them. You can do this by checking a box!
- Navigate to the Stage/Follow Up message the same way you did above.
- Check the box next to Disable message.
- That's it! This message will no longer be sent to applicants.
To start sending this message again, simply untick the box. However, this setting will not be retroactive; applicants in the past won't be receiving messages.