Screening

Term Definition:
Opening An Opening is any position that you’re screening for and is also referred to as a ‘Job’ or ‘Job Opening,’ such as Cashier - San Francisco. To create an Opening, combine a Location and a Position, then either clone a Workflow or create a new one. The Location, Position, and Workflow together comprise an Opening.
Jobs Directory All Active Openings are visible here. Setting an Opening to Inactive hides it from the Jobs Directory but the Opening remains active for all new and existing Applicants.
Master Opening We suggest that you create one master template of an Opening that can be cloned into other Openings. For instance, if you open new markets that have different screening criteria, save yourself time creating a new Opening by cloning the Master Opening and making changes as needed.
Opening Owner The User that is assigned to a given Opening. When either manual or automated emails are sent to Applicants, the Applicants’ email responses are sent to the Opening Owner’s inbox. Usually, this is set as the Regional Hiring Manager or as a general team Username and email address.
Location A region where Applicants are accepted for a given Opening. This may be a city, state, country, or even set to ‘Remote.’ Additional Location settings include Address, Time Zone, Language, Brand, and SMS Number. The Location is joined with a Position to create an Opening.
Position or Application Form This is the first page an Applicant sees when applying for a Job Opening. Here is where you’ll include the Job Description. Four fields (First name, Last name, Email, and Phone number) are built into this page and are mandatory for all Applicants as these are used to create a unique Applicant Profile. While you may include additional questions on this page, it is advised that you place them instead in the first Stage of the Workflow. The Position is joined with a Location to create an Opening.
Workflow A series of Stages (steps) in an Opening, the Workflow is the back end of a virtual job application. Add, delete, or reorder Stages to influence the Applicant’s experience. See ‘Stages’ for more information. For a detailed overview of Workflow terms click here.
Workflow Editor Make changes to one Opening at a time. Navigate to the Openings page, click Actions next to the Opening you’d like to edit, then click Edit Workflow.
Bulk Editor

Make changes to multiple Openings at once. Navigate to the Openings Page and click Bulk Edit.

Stage Components

Term Definition:
Stage A Workflow consists of a series of Stages, each of which is a page in a virtual job application. Refer to ‘Stage Types’ below to learn more about their unique functions (i.e. Scheduler Stage, Background Check Stage, Rule Stage, etc.). Stages appear both in the Workflow when editing an Opening and in the Applicant Table when managing Applicants.
Stage Title Stage title is visible only to Fountain Users, both in the Workflow Editor and in the Applicant Table. Applicants cannot see this title so you have the flexibility to name it something that is intuitive to your Users. Edit the Stage Title by selecting a stage in the Workflow Editor and selecting the pencil icon next to the Stage Title box in the right pane.
Custom Stage Name Stage title visible to Applicants at the top of each page and in the menu bar. Keep this title clear and try to limit it to two words, such as Basic Information, Document Upload, or Interview. View the menu as an Applicant Edit the Custom Stage Name by selecting a stage in the Workflow Editor and selecting the pencil icon next to the Custom Stage Name box in the right pane.
Customize Stage Add content to the header, such as copy, images, or videos. You may add JSON in the Custom Scripts section to further customize design or insert tracking pixels.
Hide Stage from Applicant Portal Check this box in any stage that you would like to hide from the Application Menu bar. Rejected and On Hold stages are automatically hidden. To activate the Application Menu bar, navigate to Company Settings > check the box next to Make all stages in an opening visible to the applicants in their applications.
Automatic Move Rule This setting is available in every stage so you can move Applicants to another stage after they’ve been idle for X amount of days. If you would like to move an Applicant to the On Hold stage after they’ve been idle for 14 days, for instance, it is suggested that you create an On Hold Reason in Company Settings titled Applicant went Idle so you can distinguish between other Applicants in the On Hold stage.
Applicant Menu

Displays selected stages to Applicants as a menu on the left side of their application, along with a % complete dial. Activate this menu by navigating to Company Settings > check the box next to Make all stages in an opening visible to the applicants in their applications. View this menu as an Applicant would by applying as an Applicant. Note that there is no preview function available for this feature but you may follow the instructions under Preview the Application as an Applicant. Hide stages from this menu by navigating to the Workflow Editor, then checking the box Hide this stage from applicant portal. Note that you must do this for each stage you wish to hide in each opening.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.